Monday, 8 October 2012

Would I miss Facebook if I deleted my account?

A friend of mine recently deleted their Facebook account, which at first seemed strange, but I'm wondering if it would be such a bad thing to delete mine too?

I've been using Facebook for the longest of all the popular social networks (Myspace doesn't count!) and it started off as just me sharing and talking with my good friends. Facebook has always had a kind of closed feel to it though, unlike Twitter, and so as the friends list grows; the more reluctant you are to share personal information or photos, and the social becomes anti-social.

It also seems that the more I share on Facebook, the less people it reaches. Facebook are really messing with their algorithms recently and it's bad news for individuals, but even worse for small businesses. Getting heard is hard, and paid promotion will only make Facebook more of a big brand experience, something which I really don't want my news feed clogged up with. It's a dangerous game they're playing, but with a billion users, unfortunately, they can afford to play it.

Aside from my pictures, I wouldn't loose much of value except the contact with friends who I don't have any other means of contacting. But even the contact with those friends happens rarely, and it seems like much more of my time on Facebook is spent wasted than put to good use, and this can only get worse.
Post a Comment